ACCA Qualification

ACCA is the world’s fastest-growing gateway to the accountancy profession, helping people to become successful accountancy professionals. Its global reputation is so strong that it now has over 170,000 members and 436,000 students in 180 countries. It also works with over 8,500 approved employers and over 80 accountancy partnerships worldwide. The ACCA qualification is fully SAQA-registered as a Professional Qualification in South Africa at National Qualification Framework (NQF) Level 8.

The ACCA qualification’s main goal is to equip students to work as professional accountants in any sector of the economy, including public practice, industry, commerce, and government, either in South Africa or in other nations across the world. Professionals in finance are in high demand all throughout the world, especially in South Africa. ACCA gives people with disabilities the chance to pursue careers in accounting, business, and finance, both for their own benefit and for the benefit of the economy as a whole. The purpose of the ACCA qualification is to contribute to societies around the world, including in South Africa.


Getting Started with ACCA
There are various entry points into the ACCA qualification, depending on your previous academic qualifications and age. Minimum entry requirements Matric certificate – 3 advanced passes and 2 intermediate passes (including English and Mathematics).

The syllabus is divided into two levels (Fundamentals and Professional), each of which has sixteen examination papers designed to assess the knowledge and understanding needed to practice as Chartered Certified Accountants (a full copy of the syllabus is attached). Knowledge (F1 to F3) and Skills (F4 to F9) are separated into two modules in the Fundamental Level, and Essentials (P1 to P3) and Options (P4 to P9) are divided into two modules in the Professional Level (P4 to P7). Students must select two of the four options papers. The South African versions of the Law and Tax papers are also available to students (F4, F6 and P6).

Graduate- entry route 

Relevant degree holders from ACCA accredited institutions may be exempted from up to nine exams within the Fundamentals level and may even register directly at the Professional level. Degrees with some relevance may also qualify for exemptions.

Access to ACCA via the FIA qualification

  • No academic qualifications required
  • Through Foundations in Accounting, achieve certificates and diplomas along the way before progressing onto the ACCA Qualification.

ACCA membership

To become an ACCA member, students must show that they have satisfied the practical experience requirements of the organization in addition to completing the exams. For membership, all students must have a minimum of three years of relevant supervised accounting experience and achieve the

minimal competency standards. The Trainee Development Matrix must be filled out with information about the learner’s practical training and experience.

In addition to the technical skills and talents examined throughout the ACCA Qualification, students must learn about and display ethical ideals and professionalism, which is important to ACCA’s mission and core values. ACCA students must take an online professional ethics module as part of their training. Eleven of the sixteen ACCA tests include an examination of professional principles, ethics, and attitudes.

How can we Contact you?